# NITI AAYOG – NON-CONSTITUTIONAL BODIES

## **NITI Aayog**

#### **Background**

- **Establishment**: NITI Aayog (National Institution for Transforming India) was established on January 1, 2015, as a replacement for the Planning Commission.
- **Objective**: It aims to foster cooperative federalism and encourage states to develop their own policies in a more decentralized manner.

### Composition

- **Governing Council**: Composed of the Chief Ministers of all states and Union Territories (UTs) and the Lieutenant Governors of UTs.
- Chairperson: The Prime Minister of India serves as the chairperson.
- **Members**: It includes a Vice Chairperson and full-time and part-time members, who are experts in various fields.

### **Functions and Responsibilities**

- 1. **Policy Formulation**: Develops strategic plans and policies aimed at fostering economic development and improving the quality of life in India.
- 2. **Cooperative Federalism**: Encourages collaboration between the central and state governments, facilitating dialogue on various policy matters.
- 3. **Performance Monitoring**: Assesses the progress of various initiatives and schemes implemented by the government at both central and state levels.
- 4. **Research and Data Analysis**: Conducts research, analyzes data, and disseminates information to support evidence-based policy-making.
- 5. **Capacity Building**: Aims to enhance the capacities of states and local governments through knowledge sharing and best practices.

### **Importance**

• NITI Aayog plays a crucial role in transforming India's socio-economic landscape by providing a platform for cooperative governance and inclusive development.

#### **Non-Constitutional Bodies**

Non-constitutional bodies are institutions set up by the government for specific purposes, which are not mentioned in the Constitution. Here are some key non-constitutional bodies in India:

#### 1. Planning Commission (Now Replaced by NITI Aayog)

- **Function**: Formulated five-year plans and evaluated their implementation.
- **Significance**: Guided resource allocation for economic development.

### 2. National Development Council (NDC)

- **Composition**: Composed of the Prime Minister, Union Cabinet Ministers, and Chief Ministers of states.
- Function: Discusses and approves the plans formulated by the Planning Commission.
- Role: Acts as a forum for collaborative planning between the center and the states.

#### 3. Central Vigilance Commission (CVC)

- **Establishment**: Set up in 1964 to oversee the vigilance activities of various central government departments.
- **Functions**: Monitors corruption, oversees investigation processes, and recommends actions to ensure transparency and integrity in public administration.

#### 4. National Human Rights Commission (NHRC)

- **Establishment**: Established in 1993 under the Protection of Human Rights Act.
- **Functions**: Investigates violations of human rights, promotes awareness, and recommends measures to protect human rights.

### **5.** National Commission for Women (NCW)

- **Establishment**: Set up in 1992 to address issues concerning women's rights and gender equality.
- **Functions**: Reviews laws affecting women, recommends reforms, and investigates complaints related to women's rights violations.

#### **6. National Commission for Scheduled Castes (NCSC)**

- **Establishment**: Formed to protect the interests of Scheduled Castes.
- **Functions**: Investigates complaints, reviews laws, and recommends measures for the welfare of SC communities.

#### 7. National Commission for Scheduled Tribes (NCST)

- Establishment: Focuses on the welfare and rights of Scheduled Tribes.
- **Functions**: Similar to NCSC, it investigates and recommends policies for the upliftment of ST communities.

### 8. Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI)

- **Establishment**: Established in 1988 and given statutory powers in 1992.
- **Functions**: Regulates the securities market, protects investors, and promotes the development of the securities market.

#### 9. Reserve Bank of India (RBI)

- **Establishment**: Established in 1935 as the central bank of India.
- **Functions**: Regulates monetary policy, manages foreign exchange, and supervises the banking system.

### 10. Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR)

- Establishment: Established in 1911, it is the apex body for medical research in India.
- **Functions**: Promotes and coordinates medical research, sets research priorities, and develops health policies.

#### Conclusion

NITI Aayog and the various non-constitutional bodies play pivotal roles in India's governance, policy formulation, and social justice. While NITI Aayog focuses on transforming India's development approach through cooperative federalism, non-constitutional bodies ensure specific functions such as human rights protection, women's empowerment, and financial regulation, contributing to the nation's growth and welfare.